12 April 2013

Review: The 5 Love Languages - The Secret To Love That Lasts | Gary Chapman

According to author and Dr. Gary Chapman, each person has their own love language, or preferred method of being loved by others, and it falls into one of five categories, or languages.  

The 5 Love Languages are:

1. Receiving Gifts
2. Words of Affirmation
3. Acts of Service
4. Physical Touch
5. Quality Time

Once you know your own love language and that of your partner or spouse, it can be easier to ensure you communicate in the love language that best suits them.  If they desire words of affirmation (e.g. I love you, I appreciate everything you do), then giving flowers won't mean as much as a card filled with meaningful expression of your feelings.

This all seems so straight forward and logical that it's quite funny.  There is a survey at the back of the book (one for men and one for women) or you can complete one for free online at 5lovelanguages.com  

All in all, The 5 Love Languages - The Secret to Love That Lasts by Gary Chapman was an enlightening read, and I'm glad it was recommended to me by a friend.  What's your love language?

My rating = ****

Carpe Librum!

Would you like to comment?

Thanks for your comment, Carpe Librum!